Network Analysis of Polygons

08-02-2019 01:50 AM
JesseIsaacson1
New Contributor

OK, so I am pretty new to ArcMap and ArcGIS.  I have done some more basic stuff in 10.1 and just decided to trial the ArcGIS Pro.  Here's what I have/need:

I have a set of polygons ( buffers around bus routes in my city).  Right now, they have no time attributes to them.  Then I have a list of pick ups and drop offs (with times) for trips we provide which I need to see if they fall into any of those polygons.  Here's the harder part: it's not just if they fall into the polygon spatially, but temporally as well (both place AND time).  

I do have the GTFS data for my city, which I could use somehow.  But that's the thing, I can't figure out how to get from the GTFS data to having these 3/4 mile buffers around each route, each having a start and stop time.  (The buffers would have a start time of the earliest stop on the route, and an end time of the latest stop on the route).  I tried following a tutorial, but got lost when I had to create a network dataset.  And I'm not sure that was entirely correct anyway.

Can anyone help me out? I'm sure I'm far from the only person that needs to do this, but unfortunately we don't have any GIS experts on staff.  

0 Kudos
4 Replies
PaulMattern1
New Contributor II

My guess is that you're comparing Demand Response Trips to the time it would take to use the Fixed Route system for the same trip to ensure the Complementary ADA service is equitable to the fixed route service.

Or, are looking to see if the trips fall within a certain time of operation to see which service the rider should use?

0 Kudos
JesseIsaacson1
New Contributor
That’s actually a really good idea, but not what I’m shooting for right now. I’m probably going to be back for advice on that later...