Turn off pop-ups for features not shown on web map

06-24-2019 09:07 AM
MinnesotaDesign_Center
New Contributor II

Is there a way to disable pop-ups for features that aren't visible on a web map? I have a master assets layer that I'd like to be able to reference on a series of maps tailored to show different categories. Using unique symbols, I'm able to show only relevant categories while grouping the other, unneeded features into the "Other" label. This works fine as far as the symbols go, but I'm left with phantom pop-ups appearing even though their corresponding features aren't visible. I know I can just make copies of the master layer and delete unneeded features from the copies if necessary, but it seems like there should be a better way.

10 Replies
RobertBorchert
Frequent Contributor III

Disable Pop Ups for those features.

0 Kudos
MinnesotaDesign_Center
New Contributor II

As far as I can tell pop-up settings can only be applied to an entire layer, though, which doesn't help when I want to show pop-ups for only those features that are visible within a given layer.

RobertBorchert
Frequent Contributor III

You should not get pop ups for features that are not visible.  So you have them with no symbols and stacked on top of each other

0 Kudos
MinnesotaDesign_Center
New Contributor II

The features that shouldn't be shown are grouped in the default unique symbols "Other" category, which is unchecked, so they aren't visible. But those "other" features' pop-ups still display if you click the map where that hidden polygon would draw. I'm not sure if that's what you meant, but that's what I've been trying to fix. I would expect pop-ups to only show for visible features by default, but that doesn't seem to be the case. 

RobertBorchert
Frequent Contributor III

Turn them off using a definition query instead.

0 Kudos
KellyGerrow
Esri Frequent Contributor