How do I check if a layer already exists on the Map in ArcGIS Pro using ArcPy?

04-24-2019 04:31 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I have a process that adds a layer from a lyrx file to a group layer on the map. I need to add something into my script to check to see if it already exists so it doesn't add it again but I'm struggling to find anything online about this for ArcGIS Pro. Here's what I currently have (sorry I'm new at this):

LyrDir = "C:\\mydir\\"
off_pk = "Offline group layer\\"
aprx = arcpy.mp.ArcGISProject("CURRENT")
aprxMap = aprx.listMaps("Map")[0]
offGrp = aprxMap.listLayers("Offline group layer")[0]

my_lyr = arcpy.mp.LayerFile(LyrDir + "myfile.lyrx")
 aprxMap.addLayerToGroup(offGrp,my_lyr,[2])
 offlyr = aprxMap.listLayers(off_pk + "my layer")
 for layer in offlyr:
    layer.visible = False

I was hoping it would be as simple as typing something like:

if layer.exists(mylayer) == False:
   aprxMap.addLayerToGroup(offGrp,my_lyr,[2])
   offlyr = aprxMap.listLayers(off_pk + "my layer")
   for layer in offlyr:
      layer.visible = False

If anyone can help, thanks in advance.

7 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Exists—ArcPy Functions | ArcGIS Desktop 

arcpy.Exists(…) I would think would do it, but you will need to provide the path

by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Thanks for the help Dan. That gets me part of the way there. It returns 'True' if I check a layer exists outside of a group layer but when I try to find my layer 'my group\my layer' it always returns 'False' even though it exists. I'm assuming it requires a slightly different process if something is nested. Any ideas?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

sounds like you have to check to see if the layer is a group layer or check each layers 'longName' property to get the full path to it

longName
(Read Only)

A layer's full path including group layer folder structure.

Layer—ArcPy | ArcGIS Desktop 

by Anonymous User
Not applicable