Projected Coordinate System vs. Geographic Coordinate System

02-28-2011 01:52 PM
SeanGerhardt
New Contributor II
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the world of GIS so I was somewhat confused when I saw the option of choosing from either a geographic coordinate system or projected coordinate system in arcMap.

My first layer is a Landsat 5 image that reads as being in WGS_84_UTM_zone_15_N, which is a projected coordinate system in arcMap. I am trying to display a shapefile over this Landsat image, but the shapefile is in WGS84 which is a geographic coordinate system in arcMap. The input for the shapefile is in lat/long without regard to projection.

When I load the shapefile layer, arcMap gives me a warning that the coordinate systems differ, but the shape file still appears to be in the correct place.

So my main questions are:

1. What is the difference a geographic coordinate system and a projected coordinate system?

2. The shapefile is in WGS_84 and the Landsat 5 image is in WGS_84_UTM_15. Will this incorrectly affect the placement of the shapefile, or can I simply ignore this warning?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Tags (2)
12 Replies
MattMorris
New Contributor III
LOL hang on to your cowboy hat Sean. You just asked one of the most important questions any new GIS user wants to know about, and the answer is simple and complicated all at once. There are many people here much more knowledgeable than me, so I will let them answer question #1. Question #2, Arc will project different spatial references "on the fly" (provided they are all correctly defined) so you don't need to worry on that score. It is best to have everything in the same coordinate reference system so Arc doesn't use up a lot of processor doing that, but not required.
MelitaKennedy
Esri Notable Contributor
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the world of GIS so I was somewhat confused when I saw the option of choosing from either a geographic coordinate system or projected coordinate system in arcMap.