Raster cell count changes

03-22-2019 04:46 AM
Roosvan_der_Deijl
New Contributor II

Hello there! 

Disclaimer: I'm a GIS beginner, so this might be a stupid question, but I haven't found useful help yet on the internet.

Every time I do any calculation on my raster (raster calc, reclassify), the cell counts of the different values as well as the total cell count decrease by a factor (almost exactly) 4. The cell sizes and extent of the maps are the same. 

This happens even when simply inputting the raster map into the raster calculator (so just duplicating it). 

Does anyone have an explanation for this? I appreciate it, thank you!

0 Kudos
11 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

can you provide an example where the cell sizes and and extent for inputs and outputs are the same.  That factor is just too convenient to be a coincidence for all raster tools in arctoolbox

Also software and version and extensions if any would help narrow down those issues

0 Kudos
Roosvan_der_Deijl
New Contributor II

Hi Dan, thanks for the fast reply! 

Software = ArcMap Desktop 10.6, version 10.6.0.8321, and I'm using the spatial analyst extension. 

An example would be the raster 'KK_1990_grid_cellsize60', which layer info looks like:

and top op the attribute table:

When I insert this map into raster calculator, it makes the map "kk_1990_gri1", with layer info

And raster attribute table

where you can see that all count values are 4 times smaller. 

Let me know if you'd need more info to understand! Thanks!

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

On the first image … 'Extent' tab... that is what I wanted you to check.

You have confirmed that the rows and columns of the inputs are the same. So the Extent and Spatial reference would be useful.

I also notice  Dropbox.  can you save your rasters to a local folder in *.tif format... just trying to rule out location and file format as well

0 Kudos
Roosvan_der_Deijl
New Contributor II

Extent of original map: