How to crop a TIFF image

02-22-2019 07:36 PM
RichardAdams
New Contributor

Hopefully a simple question - I'm using ArcGIS Pro 2.2.0, and I've imported a TIFF map image over a base map. I'm wanting to crop the image, ideally using a polygon, but when I can't seem to do it. I've been trying to create a polygon through the edit menu, but with no luck. tiff ##crop image

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

make your polygon using normal procedures and have the resultant featureclass in the same coordinate system as the raster.

Extract by Polygon—Help | ArcGIS Desktop 

there are other things in the image analyst etc and other shortcuts, but I am sure you will need the polygon featureclass at some stage later.

0 Kudos
RichardAdams
New Contributor

Thanks very much Dan - I should have probably mentioned that I'm new to using ArcGIS, so while I'm sure your answer was spot on I was hoping for something in more basic laymans terms.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Ahhhh so you are kind of jumping in without any background.

Soooo.

You need to create a featureclass

Create Feature Class—Data Management toolbox | ArcGIS Desktop 

Then you need to create a polygon to put in your featureclass

Create polygon features—ArcGIS Pro | ArcGIS Desktop 

when you have that, then you can extract by polygon... if you have the Spatial Analyst extension (which I perhaps erroneously assumed you had)

If you don't have it, then you will have to live with a rectangular extent (a bounding box) around your area of interest

Clip Raster—Data Management toolbox | ArcGIS Desktop 

And there are other ways, but I suspect that will entertain you for a while

curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor

you will have to live with a rectangular extent