Use "webmap" as a basemap in ArcGIS PRO?

Jump to solution
11-08-2018 06:23 AM
BuckySwider
Occasional Contributor

Hi all, i'm a GIS newbie, so some of my terminology probably will be incorrect, but hopefully I can get across what I'm asking...

I'm doing a "Fire Service Maps" project with the express intent of printing a Run Book.  I've gone through some trial runs and the results with the basemaps I have available are less than impressive for the purpose.

I'm searching for a plain black-and-white basemap.  Everything is either greyscale or full color.  When printed on a black-and-white printer, the background shading makes the important elements hard to see (not to mention quite a waste of toner- we'll probably end up printing 25 or so books at 125 pages each!).  

So on my quest I have found an ESRI basemap that seems like it would be PERFECT for my task.  However, here is its intended use paragraph:

This map is designed to be used as the base map in a web map.  You can add this layer to a web map and save as your own map.  If you would like to use this map as a reference overlay layer, refer to the transparent tile layer, Black and White Map (transparent).

The link for the page for this basemap:  Black and White Map

I did connect to th arcgis portal for basemaps, but I can't find that one listed anywhere.  

So the bottom-line question is, is there a way to use that "Black and White Map" as a basemap in my ArcGIS project?

Thanks!  

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
KoryKramer
Esri Community Moderator

Like that item says, "You can add this layer to a web map and save as your own map."

So in ArcGIS Online (signed in to your organization account - same that you use in Pro) add the layer to a web map and save it.

Now in Pro, look at your Portal content (refresh if it doesn't show up right away):

You can see that it is there.  Right-click > Add and Open.  It adds the web map to the Pro project.