Hi, I'm a newbie attempting to build a fire service map book. What inputs are necessary?

10-30-2018 06:51 PM
Labels (1)
BuckySwider
Occasional Contributor

Hi guys, a mapping newbie/volunteer fire officer here.  I'm attempting to create a fire run book using the "Fire Service Maps" add-on on ArcGIS PRO 2.2.  Some really basic stuff is stumping me already.

I did procure parcel outlines and Streets shapefiles from the county, but I don't know when/where to use them.  I'm going through the tasks and I'm at "Load data into SiteAddressPoint feature class".  Here's what it's giving me the option of doing: 

Instructions from task pane

I suppose I could just forge forward and try to see if the streets shapefile is able to be pulled in here, but I thought it'd be better if I asked first.  And when should I import the parcel outlines shapefile?

Sorry for the newb question.  (And I'm sure I'll have more to come!)

Thanks!  

0 Kudos
57 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

By Fire Run Book, I assume you are creating a map book of your area of response, correct?

A brief GIS primer first:  geographic entities are represented by one of three basic shapes: Points, Lines, or Polygons.  It sounds like the addin/task is asking to represent your site addresses as points.  Your streets are obviously lines and your parcels are polygons.

Contact your county and see if they have actual address points.  These are simply an x,y location with the address assigned to them.  If your parcel polygons have a location or site address field, you can convert them to points: every polygon has a centroid location to it.  See Feature To Point—Data Management toolbox | ArcGIS Desktop .  The difference is address points typically represent the location of the actual residence, whereas the parcel centroid 'floats' somewhere inside the parcel.

That should just about do it....
BuckySwider
Occasional Contributor

Thanks Joe!  Great info.