Is it possible to automate sewer service line creation?

10-15-2018 10:46 AM
LukeAllen2
Occasional Contributor

I am a GIS Tech working for a utility company, part of the asset maintenance program entails running a camera down gravity mains (sewer pipes) from the upstream manhole to the downstream manhole.

Every time the camera finds a sewer lateral (service line) it records its distance and the angle it leaves the gravity main.

I have been able to use ArcMap to plot the distances as points by converting the gravity mains to a route layer and using the create route events too on the original excel file given to me which contains the distances for each service line.

Now here is my main question - most of our gravity mains currently do not have the sewer laterals (service lines) digitized yet. With the location of the sewer lateral (point file) i also have the direction it leaves the gravity main.

Is it possible some how in arcpy to automate the creation of the sewer laterals, for example, just make all the sewer lines 20 ft and set a predetermined direction (the original points have an angle measurement for the sewer lateral direction relative to the direction of each of the gravity mains).

Could anyone give me any direction on how I might go about automating the creation of the sewer laterals

9 Replies
MikeMillerGIS
Esri Frequent Contributor

Yes, we have a tool in the Water Editing and Analysis toolset to do this:

Water Utility Network Editing toolbar - Water Geometric Network Editing and Analysis | ArcGIS Soluti...