ERROR 999998: Unexpected Error raster algebra

02-08-2018 11:30 AM
PauloFlores
New Contributor II

Hi there,

I am new at Pythin and during the last couple months I have working on writing some Python scripts to automatize some of my drone imagery analysis, such as the code bellow. I have written few scripts and used them on different datasets and they were working just fine. A couple days ago I realize that would be better to save my final raster (yellow) on the same folder that my original RGB raster (blue), so I can use that same path in other scripts for further analysis without having to copy rasters around. Then, I started to get a message ERROR 999998: Unexpected Error, and now does not matter which code I try to run, I get the same message. 

I have been looking around for a solution for my issue but I have been unsuccessful on that regard. By reading some material online, it seems that problem is related to memory issues, but I am not quite sure about that. Here are some details about my machine and software.

- desktop computer (Windows 10, version 1511, OS Build 10586.663, Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.41 GHz, RAM 32GB, System type 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor) . I have ArcGis 10.5  and I am using PythonWin (PythonWin 2.7.12 (v2.7.12:d33e0cf91556, Jun 27 2016, 15:19:22) [MSC v.1500 32 bit (Intel)] on win32.) to write my scripts.

- I ran the code bellow on my Surface 3 laptop (Windows 10 Pro, version 10.0.16299 build 16299, system type x64-based PC, processor Intel Core i5-4300 CPU @ 1.90GHz, 2501 Mhz, 2 cores, 4 logical processors; RAM 8GB) this morning and it worked just fine.

-Last night I ran the same code from within ArcGIS and it worked just fine.

-I can not understand how everything was working just fine until a couple days ago, and suddenly the computer does not have enough memory to handle the same task. My RGB file is (around 1.8 GB in size, but I used files larger than that in the past with no problems.