Coordinate system conversion

01-27-2018 08:58 PM
RonMan
by
New Contributor III

I am a beginner at ArcGIS and i do have a question related to coordinate system conversion.

I just need to convert coordinates from WGS84 UTM 37S to ARC 1960? I know that is horizontal conversion.  My question is do i still have to do vertical datum transformation though i am concerned with equivalent horizontal coordinates?  Another thing is i would do the WGS84 37S to ARC 1960 projection in Arcmap 10.3.  But the vertical transformation in Geographic Calculator software.  Is that correct?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,

Ron

(U.A.E.)

0 Kudos
20 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

You need to do a projection using the Project tool 

A list of vertical transformations that are supported can be found in the Geographic datum transformation link.  (Equivalent documentation exists for 10.3)

RonMan
by
New Contributor III

Thank you Dan for your response.  I appreciate it and thanks for the link of 

"ArcGIS 10.6.0 and ArcGIS Pro 2.1 Geographic and Vertical Transformation Tables"

So is there a need for a vertical transformation?

As a beginner i am swamped with the long list.  Could you be able to explain further how the table will be used in my transformation task?

Thank you.

Regards,

Ron

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

If your concern is with the horizontal, then there should be no need.  The various horizontal transformations are provided in the link that I sent.  At the bottom of the page is a link to a pdf which shows those that are directly supported.  If you were offered a horizontal transformation transformation then you could it

0 Kudos
RonMan
by
New Contributor III

Thank you for your help Dan.

Regards,

Ron

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

No problem Ron, hope it all works out

0 Kudos
RonMan
by
New Contributor III

I have a follow up question regarding this coordinate transformation. 

I made a simple test.