Avenue Script

Jump to solution
12-15-2017 09:16 PM
JpersonalLundquist
New Contributor III

This is going back, but it's where I'm from. (a forever young 62 year old who just loves GIS and sometimes fall back to ArcView 3). -Pays off sometimes:)

I've been trying to run a script, my Avenue Book is nowhere to be found, and I'm a newbie.

this is what I'm working with:

Copy and Paste this script to the script window in ArcView (Use CTRL+V to paste):

‘ This script copies over node numbers from nodes.dbf and adds record
‘ numbers to the line theme feature table. It adds fields called RECORD#,
‘ FJUNCTION, and TJUNCTION to the line theme feature table. A network
‘ index directory must exist for the network theme before running this
‘ script.

‘ Get the view and the network theme. Substitute aViewName for the name
‘ of your view, and aThemeName for the name of your network theme.

aView = av.GetProject.FindDoc(“VIEW_NAME_HERE”)

aNetworkTheme = aView.FindTheme(“THEME_NAME_HERE”)
aNetworkThemeFTab = aNetworkTheme.GetFTab

‘ Get the nodes.dbf file, make the VTab object, and get its fields

aNetworkIndexDir = aNetworkTheme.AsString.Substitute(“shp”,”nws”)
aNodeFile = FN.Merge(aNetworkIndexDir, “nodes.dbf”)
aNodeVTab = VTab.Make(aNodeFile, false, false)
aFjunction = aNodeVTab.FindField(“Fjunction”)
aTjunction = aNodeVTab.FindField(“Tjunction”)

‘ Add Record#, Fjunction, Tjunction fields to network theme FTab

aRecordField = Field.Make(“Record#”,#FIELD_LONG,12,0)
aFjunctionField = Field.Make(“Fjunction”,#FIELD_LONG,12,0)
aTjunctionField = Field.Make(“Tjunction”,#FIELD_LONG,12,0)
aFieldList = {aRecordField,aFjunctionField,aTjunctionField}
aNetworkThemeFTab.SetEditable(True)
aNetworkThemeFTab.AddFields(aFieldList)

‘ Use nodes.dbf to populate Rec#, Fjunction, Tjunction

Count = 0
for each r in aNetworkThemeFTab
aFromNodeNumber = aNodeVTab.ReturnValueNumber(aFjunction,Count)

aToNodeNumber = aNodeVTab.ReturnValueNumber(aTjunction,Count)