I have been running ArcGIS 10 (single user license) for many years. Recently I had a Windows 10 update and now when I start my ArcMap 10 I get a message "The ArcView license is in need of a repair operation". How do I repair my ArcView license?

11-21-2017 12:48 PM
WesJohnson
New Contributor

I have been running ArcGIS 10 (single user license) for many years. Recently I had a Windows 10 update and now when I start my ArcMap 10 I get a message "The ArcView license is in need of a repair operation". How do I repair my ArcView license?

5 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

it seems to be an issue for some installations, a windows update issue can easily be fixed if you go to your control panel and install/uninstall programs, then select repair.  Life may return to normal at that point.  

If the problem reoccurs (which it may), then you need to go beyond the simple repair problem and report back with more detailed information about virus protection and myriad of other things.  Try the repair first.  I have a parallel report on a similar issue but it is tied into ArcMap AND ArcGIS Pro.  Certain dll's are being reduced to 0 bytes 

C:\Program Files (x86)\ArcGIS\Desktop10.5\bin\aibase.dll   and aifeat.dll

If these files are 0 bytes in size, report that and I will pass this thread on to the people monitoring 'my parallel report'

Good luck

PS

deleting your application profile and the standard stuff does diddly... although it may solve other issues, so you might want to do that just to feel like you went the extra mile

JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

If at all possible, you really should get upgraded to a version that at least isn't retired as v 10.0 is...

Esri Support 10.0 

That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You could repair the license using ArcGIS Administrator.

See this article FAQ: Is Windows 10 certified with Esri's ArcGIS products? if it works for you.

Think Location
0 Kudos
WesJohnson
New Contributor