Roads & Highways Database Maintenance and Route Locks

10-20-2017 07:47 AM
anayoung
New Contributor III

Hello,

I am new to performing database maintenance in a Roads and Highways ALRS. What happens to the database when there is a route lock when performing maintenance prodecures? 

Thank you,

Ana

0 Kudos
2 Replies
RachelApplebaum
Esri Contributor

Hi Ana,

What kind of maintenance procedures are you doing? General database maintenance (like recreating indices) or some specific Roads and Highways procedures (like deciding conflicts during a reconcile)? Also, is your data in a file or enterprise geodatabase?

-Rachel

0 Kudos
anayoung
New Contributor III

Hi Rachel,

This Ana Young from DOTD in Louisiana. You helped us with a ticket regarding an error message that was being generated by our out-of-whack centerline sequence table i.e "No centerline found at m value..." (or something like that). I apologize for taking so long to reply but thanks for getting back to me on this issue. 

I was told having locks is not such a big problem if no schema changes are being made but it still bugs me. So, my maintenance procedure is to reconcile and post the versions up through Default, then to reconcile everything to Default (without posting), then to compress the database, then to rebuild the indexes, and finally to analyze the dataset. I do this once a week and generally on Fridays.