AnsweredAssumed Answered

ArcGIS Pro Extensions licensing clarification

Question asked by valraa on Oct 11, 2017
Latest reply on Oct 31, 2018 by omdaniel

With the advent of ArcGIS Pro, and since its intial release, many new developments have changed the way ESRI customers used to work. One of these are the licensing types one can use to authorize ArcGIS Pro.

I'd like to clarify a few key points concerning the extensions which IMO are somehow obscured due to the rapid changes the platform has undergone.

ArcGIS Pro from version 1.2 can be authorized with a named user license, which is linked to AGOL credentials and an annual maintenance (this is the deafault), or with the well known Single and Concurrent Use licenses.

According to this technical article, ArcGIS Pro authorization numbers are different from ArcMap ones. Thus, one is supposed to go into my.esri and convert ArcGIS Pro named licenses to either Single or Concurrent Use (depending on which license has been purchased). This seems true for extensions as well.

On the one hand, one obvious benefit of using named licenses is that it is possible to run up to three concurrent instances of ArcGIS Pro with the same AGOL credentials from three different machines. The only requirement is to be currently-on-maintenance.

On the other hand if one does not annually maintain the license, one loses the right to use ArcGIS Pro (although it seems it is still possible to convert an expired named license to Single or Concurrent license).


My questions are:

  1. Do the same rules apply to ArcGIS Pro extensions?
  2. If I purchase (e.g.) three Spatial Analyst extensions, it means I have purchased both three ArcGIS Desktop Spatial Analyst AND three ArcGIS Pro for Spatial Analyst?
  3. Are the purchased ArcGIS Pro extensions of 'named license' type by default?
  4. Can I use expired ArcGIS Pro extensions with currently-on-maintenance ArcGIS Pro?


Thanks in advance for clarifying.