Select A Range of Edge Index

09-22-2017 04:00 PM
LesiMai1
New Contributor II

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to CityEngine and wondering if there is a way to select multiple edges in the setback operation without typing in each one separately. For instance, I want edges with index from 0 to 4 to have a 3m setback. I can do it by 

setback(3){0:X|1:X|2:X|3:X|4:X|remainder:Y}

But is there a way I can do it more efficiently? I have lots with over 90 edges because of the curves. So it will help me tremendously if there is an easier way to do it.

Thank you in advance for any pointers!

Lesi

0 Kudos
5 Replies
LR
by
Occasional Contributor III

No but you can use Excel to build rules like that easily. For example, put =A1&": "&B1&" |" in cell C1, Index in A and rule name in B. Then just pull the cells down.

0 Kudos
LesiMai1
New Contributor II

That's an interesting way to do it! I just wish it can be accomplished dynamically within CityEngine.

0 Kudos
LR
by
Occasional Contributor III

You could also use a conditional rule with indexes, like so:

attr startIndex = 0
attr endIndex = 0

@StartRule 
 Lot --> 
 comp(f){side:IndexCase} 

IndexCase -->
 case comp.index >= startIndex && comp.index <= endIndex: DoThing
 else: Stop‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍
LesiMai1
New Contributor II

Thank you for all the helpful suggestions along the way! If you don't mind, I'd like to add a little context to the original question. I'm interested in setting different setbacks based on the street width the lot front is facing. For example, if a corner lot has two street fronts, how can I set up the rule so that it can read the streetWidth attribute to decide the amount of setback needed?

0 Kudos
CherylLau
Esri Regular Contributor