one to many relationships in Survey123 form

06-22-2017 01:36 PM
DavidHume
New Contributor II

Hi,

I'm trying to work out how to create a Survey123 form which enables the user to capture overarching information about a 'site', surveyor name, weather, etc. and then has numerous 'observations' within the site with each observation inheriting the overarching information. This would be a one (site) to many (observations) relationship.

Does anyone know if this can be done in Survey123 and what needs to be done to allow this functionality? If anyone has any examples or can point me in the right direction that would be appreciated.

I'm new to Survey123, having been a long time ArcPad user, so if I've not been clear or this is already covered in other posts then I'd welcome your thoughts.

Thanks in advance,

David.

0 Kudos
13 Replies
JamesTedrick
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi David,

You probably want to create a form with a repeat section - that can create the site>observation survey design.  In the background, it uses related tables to store the information.  Repeats—Survey123 for ArcGIS | ArcGIS 

DavidHume
New Contributor II

Thanks James that is really helpful and solved my issue!

I have another which you may know the answer to as well. I have a select list (drop down) which, based on which answer the user chooses, it then automatically populates the next field. I looked at cascading selects and I can make this do what I need but I'd rather remove the user having to click and choose the answer to the 2nd question. To be specific the first question asks what the Latin name is of the bat species spotted and the 2nd field will be it's common name. There are only about a dozen or so possible responses to question 1 so I thought that a kind of 'if' statement might do the trick but then decided that there has got to be a better and automated way to do this. Any help would be very welcome!

0 Kudos
JamesTedrick