Insights On-Premise Developer License Requirements

06-15-2017 01:05 PM
DirkVandervoort
Occasional Contributor II

My ArcGIS developer entitlements include ArcGIS Server and Portal for ArcGIS. We would like to evaluate Insights for ArcGIS. I've found documentation that says I can import Insights authorization via the Portal administrator. However I cannot find how to get those entitlements from my.esri.com.

I can't seem to find anything that say's "This is how you buy Insights" or "This is how you create a developer's instance of Insights"

I've to 3 L1 and 2 L2 NUs available to me. 

Every time I try to launch Insights in the browser I am informed that I do not have permissions to access Insights - even though I am an administrator. 

When I attempt to share the Insights app with a group, it gives me the impression it was successful sharing the item, yet when I try to share it again, all the share checkboxes have become unchecked.

Re: Insights, it it important that we try before we buy...

Any insight (ark ark) would be greatly appreciated

0 Kudos
4 Replies
AravindStoryMaps
Esri Regular Contributor

Hey Dirk,

I just confirmed with your customer number on the My Esri site. You should be able to obtain Insights authorization (which is a count of named users in a JSON file) and then import into Portal Administrator directory. 

Go to My Esri site and perform these steps: Configure Insights for ArcGIS licenses—Portal for ArcGIS (10.5) | ArcGIS Enterprise . 

1. Log in to My Esri and click My Organizations > Licensing > Provisioning.
  2. On the Provisioning dialog box, specify Product Type as Additional Portal Products. The Version, License Type, and Provision options populate automatically.
  3. Click Apply.
  4. Review the product information.
  5. Choose the number of named users you need in the Allocate column. Click Next.
  6. Provide the contact and address information for your organization.