How do I add a network dataset to a mobile map package?

Jump to solution
05-27-2017 06:55 PM
ClayGinn
New Contributor II

I'm still fairly new to ArcGIS Pro, so forgive me for anything obvious I'm overlooking. 

I'm attempting to add a network dataset to a map and then export it as a mobile map package. I've followed the instructions here (Create Mobile Map Package—Data Management toolbox | ArcGIS Desktop ) and my network dataset follows all of the conventions described on this page. When I build it I receive no errors. However, when I open it in my WPF application, the TransportationNetworks object is always null. 

Is there a way to verify through ArcGIS Pro that the network dataset actually made it into the package? If that is the case then I can determine whether or not the problem is in my WPF application. If the network dataset isn't being included, then what am I failing to do? 

I'm not sure what other information might be needed, so please tell me what else I should provide. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
FrankKish
Esri Contributor

var mapPackage = await MobileMapPackage.OpenAsync("C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Common\\Maps\\NetworkPackage.mmpk");

//add this line and the TransportationNetworks[] should no longer be null.

await mapPackage.Maps[0].LoadAsync();

if (mapPackage.Maps[0].TransportationNetworks != null)

Alternatively .... you might want to display the map from the map package this will (auto) load the map [e.g.  myMapView.Map = mapPackage .Maps[0];]   Then you could monitor the status of the map (whether is loaded or not) by hooking up the the map's loaded event (e.g. myMapView.Map.Loaded += Map_Loaded;), and in the 'Map_Loaded' method you could now use the TransportationNetworks[].

So the general structure would be something like this (note: this is just one possible way):

MobileMapPackage mapPackage = await MobileMapPackage.OpenAsync(mmpkPath);
            MyMapView.Map = mapPackage.Maps[0];

//connect up load event