Am I missing something? I personally don't like the idea of edits being saved without me deliberately saving or discarding them. What if I accidentally select 1000 features and hit the delete key when I only intend to delete one feature? As you can see below, I've unchecked "Automatically save edits", but the 'Save' and 'Discard' buttons are disabled, so I can't use them. If I close Pro and reopen it, my edits have persisted even though I never clicked save. As you can see, I've also checked "Show dialog to confirm save/discard edits". In this particular case, I was editing points features in an unversioned feature class stored in a SQL Express "Personal SDE" database.
It's been a while and I can't remember what these settings were 'out of the box'. I think that "automatically save edits" and "Make newly added layers editable by default" so both be disabled when someone starts using pro for the first time. I believe the latter is enabled by default. If so, that is very dangerous. I think every edit session should be very deliberate, especially when editing 'enterprise' data.