Can't set the default basemap for an organization.

Jump to solution
01-10-2017 10:54 AM
JonathanBailey
Occasional Contributor III

I am an administrator of an ArcGIS Online organization. I'm attempting to configure the Map for the organization. On the Map tab in the Organization settings, the Basemap Gallery dropdown list contains only "Esri Default", and the Default Basemap dropdown list also contains only "Esri Default". Am I missing something in order to be able to set the Default Basemap for the organization?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Are you adding any custom basemaps? Do you want to continue using the default basemaps group but have the ability to choose the default basemap displayed?

Try this:

1. Create an empty group

2. Go to edit organization settings > map tab

3. Set the Basemap gallery to your group you just created

4. Check the box for "Share the Esri default basemaps to this group when you click Save."

5. Click save...this will take you back to the My Organization page

6. Go to edit organization settings > map tab

7. Now the drop down for default basemap should have a list of options

- Katie

View solution in original post

5 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Are you adding any custom basemaps? Do you want to continue using the default basemaps group but have the ability to choose the default basemap displayed?

Try this:

1. Create an empty group

2. Go to edit organization settings > map tab

3. Set the Basemap gallery to your group you just created

4. Check the box for "Share the Esri default basemaps to this group when you click Save."

5. Click save...this will take you back to the My Organization page

6. Go to edit organization settings > map tab

7. Now the drop down for default basemap should have a list of options

- Katie

JonathanBailey
Occasional Contributor III

Thank you, Katie.

A couple of notes on this: