Map package with only 8 layers and no feature records is very slow to load

10-26-2016 12:06 PM
GregYacoub
New Contributor

Will try to keep this brief.  I have a map package that takes almost 1 minute to load into my client map via a local map service (no network - both client and server on same beefy machine).  The package contains 8 feature layers, each layer hosting a unique value renderer, each renderer containing about 50 tiny pixmap marker symbols.  There are no feature records or anything else in this package.  Removing a chunk of these marker symbols greatly improves load performance.  Anyone know why the pixmap markers require so much processing?  I'm using Runtime 10.2.  Thanks!

Greg

0 Kudos
6 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Greg,

Which runtime QT, iOS, .Net, etc?

0 Kudos
GregYacoub
New Contributor

.Net

Thanks Robert, I forgot that detail.

Greg

0 Kudos
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Greg,

I'm not a runtime developer but I will move this to the appropriate space for you.

0 Kudos
MichaelBranscomb
Esri Frequent Contributor

Hi Greg,

The first time you start a LocalMapService from a Map Package (.mpk) it is unpacked to your user profile (unless you've set the LocalServer.AppDataPath property). That can take a little time, depending on the size of the mpk. But in this case, it sounds like your mpk will be just a few hundred KB if it contains no data. Subsequent attempts to start the service (i.e. the next time the user launches your app) would be quicker because the mpk is already unpacked. The only exception to that would be if you have repackaged the mpk and re-deployed, in which case it would be recognized as an update and unpacked again. 

It sounds like the time taken to start the service may be in actually parsing the MSD file (internal Map Service Definition within the mpk) and start the local map service... you can enable logging and check the log file to see what's happening there.