HOW TO COMBINE MULTIPLE LINE FEATURE CLASSES INTO A SINGLE FEATURE DATASET

07-19-2016 11:42 AM
kcjohnson
New Contributor

I'm attempting to combine multiple stream layers (3) into a single feature dataset. afterwhich I will create a set of topology rules. I've been told to use the 'Union' tool though this is only for polygon features where as the three stream files are polyline. I will also require to maintain all the fields intact when the merge is complete. Would the Merge tool be best to accomplish this task? I am fairly new at GIS and a tad overwhelmed, any suggestions would be welcome, thanks!

Seems now the project has now been changed for me to create a single layer file from the three creek layers, I've tried to merge the three files, tried to Union the three files though in order to keep all attributes from all the three layers I'm just not sure. i'll do some research tonight and have a fresh start in the AM!

does the constant changing of plans go on and on? I suppose this is the real world and plans must change!

5 Replies
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

Merge (Data Management) would be the way to go.  Note when you run Merge the Field Map control, which allows you ways to affect how the fields of each feature class get mapped into the combined feature class.  Note that the Field Map control interface is not totally intuitive at first, so play around with a bit to get a handle on what it does.

Merge - ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

Field Map Control - ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

Chris Donohue, GISP

JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

You seem to be mixing metaphors:  in one respect you want to create a feature dataset in which you can create some topology rules, but it also sounds like you want to combine disparate feature classes into one feature class (with a gigantic attribute table):  So which is it?