cga Building Rules

06-17-2016 11:04 AM
MichaelNelson3
New Contributor

I'm new to CityEngine but I've made some progress learning the program by reviewing some of the tutorials.  I received a building footprint zip file from the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG) that contains a shape file package.  The package .dbf file has building square footage, number of stories, building height etc (see attached).  Can you provide or identify the location of a .cga file that I can use or modify in my project to extrude the buildings to the correct configuration? I've used some of the .cga building rules in some of the examples without much luck.  Most of the footprints are ok but various buildings have the incorrect number of floors and heights.

Thanks,

mlnelson2@charter.net

0 Kudos
6 Replies
LR
by
Occasional Contributor III

Assuming you use the median height to extrude, you first have to convert it from feet to meter, since CE only uses that:

attr MEDIAN_HEIGHT = 0 #connect this attribute
@Hidden
attr MEDIAN_HM = MEDIAN_HEIGHT/3.2808 #feet to meter

Lot -->
  extrude(MEDIAN_HM)

If you have faulty data, you could use some case checking to "fix" it, like this:

attr MEDIAN_HEIGHT = 0
attr MEDIAN_HM = MEDIAN_HEIGHT/3.2808
attr FixHeight = 10 # in feet

Lot -->
  case MEDIAN_HEIGHT == 0: FixBuilding
  else: ExtrudeBuilding

ExtrudeBuilding -->
  extrude(MEDIAN_HM)

FixBuilding -->
  set(MEDIAN_HEIGHT, FixHeight)
  ExtrudeBuilding

You could also use something like STORIES*storyheight (if it exists) as building height.

Brownschuh
Occasional Contributor II

You provided some pretty simple, yet extremely valuable information.  I was wondering why my buildings were extruding artificially high, all the while not realizing CE defaults to meters.  Obviously I needed to convert my data to feet, but I must have missed that in the tutorials I was following ... in any event, I am appreciative of your post.  

0 Kudos
MichaelNelson3
New Contributor