ArcGIS Pro Requested operation could not be completed

Jump to solution
11-06-2015 12:22 PM
JasonHarshman
Occasional Contributor

I am using ArcGIS Pro 1.1 and trying to make some symbology changes on a feature class. Specifically, I am trying to format all symbols and trying to sort the label. In each instance, I get the error banner on top of the Symbology pane saying "Requested operation could not be completed." I'm new to Pro so I have no idea what this means or where to even begin troubleshooting other than closing Pro and trying again - which doesn't work.

Thanks,

Jason

Here's the error:

Capture.PNG

Message was edited by: Jason Harshman

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
GregoryLehner
Esri Contributor

Hello everyone,

The error "Requested operation cannot be completed" is a generic error returned by the Symbology pane when it enters an invalid state.

Similar to "Error 999999", there are a variety of reasons this error can be returned by the application. If you see this error, and it is preventing you from proceeding with your symbology, please contact Esri Technical Support so we can troubleshoot the issue. Thank you.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
24 Replies
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

A few questions:

• What if you try to format all symbols, without sorting, does it error?
  • What exact steps are you taking to try and sort the label?
  • Can you elaborate about the field you are trying to format and sort?
    • What data type?
    • File geodatabase?  SDE?
0 Kudos
JasonHarshman
Occasional Contributor

I "fixed" the issue by removing the layer and then adding it back in. But to answer your questions:

• I wasn't able to format all the symbols, with or without sorting.
  • Right-click layer in contents>Symbology>Click the 'More' drop-down>Sort by>Label>Sort Ascending
  • My unique values were symbologized on two fields, a number field and a text field. It was a file GDB polygon feature class.
0 Kudos
TylerSchwartz2