Trying to reclassify a field in attribute table with Python in Field Calculator

Jump to solution
07-10-2015 11:04 AM
DeidreA
New Contributor

Hello again!

I'm still relatively new to Python and it's my first time implementing it in the Field Calculator. What I am trying to accomplish is the reclassification of one field "CAUSE" into a new blank field named "CAUSE_RGR". I was given a script that I would have to adapt to this current project.

Basically I need to reclassify the numbers in the "CAUSE" column to be new numbers in the "CAUSE_RGR" as so:

1 --> 7

3 --> 2

4 --> 1

I was given a script that I would have to adapt to this current project, so I watched a tutorial on using python in the field calculator and came up with this script in the field calculator:

Pre-Logic Script Code:

def Reclass (CAUSE):

if CAUSE == 1:

return 7

elif CAUSE == 3:

return 2

elif CAUSE == 4:

return 1

else:

return 0

CAUSE_RGR =

def Reclass(!CAUSE!)

However I keep getting errors. Is it a syntax issue? I can't see why something as this isn't working.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Strange... seems to work just fine:

... with this result:

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
XanderBakker

You should probably only use

CAUSE_RGR =

def Reclass(!CAUSE!)

... so without the "def"

DeidreA
New Contributor

Thanks for the advice, but there still seems to be an issue. I removed it, but I'm still getting no result in my attribute table. I also checked the Geoprocessing Results window and it's telling me my script ran successfully, but it's not reflected in the table at all.

0 Kudos
XanderBakker

... and you don't have a small selection activated of your table? (Field Calculator works on selections). I am going to create a test dataset with some value to see if I can reproduce this. What version of ArcGIS for Desktop are you using?

DeidreA
New Contributor