how to make a map of tourist routes

06-26-2015 04:47 AM
lasinh
by
New Contributor III

I have a few tours,  each tourist route has several tourist attractions(tourist spots), how do I create a travel map base on tourist route, now I do not have an idea yet, any ideas?  I am very new to map trip tourist route and would appreciate any assistance on this. thanks you!!!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
SepheFox
Frequent Contributor

Hi La Sinh, that's a bit of a broad question. What have you done/tried so far? Essentially, you'll need to choose a basemap, which you can do from the add data button, and then create line and point features classes, and digitize the attractions and route as features.

0 Kudos
lasinh
by
New Contributor III

thanks Sephe Fox, i has basemap and spots ponts on map,I have found points and display them on the map,  but  i do  not create lines through the points? how create lines through points? how digitize the attractions and route as features?

0 Kudos
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Since you don't specify if the map has to be printed or digital, I would like to draw your attention to this blog post

Creating a multimedia trail web map | ArcGIS Blog (a bit dated, but nice anyway)

To create the routes, you can use a tool that connects the points and creates a line (ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2) , but that will just create straight lines between the points. Maybe this is not what you want and perhaps you have to use routing to connect the points and create the route. See Plan Routes—ArcGIS Online Help | ArcGIS

Do you have an example from somewhere else that shows what you want to achieve and can you include an image of what you have up to now? That will make it easier to suggest what you should do.

You placed this thread in ArcGIS for Server , so may I assume that you have ArcGIS for Server, or is it just Desktop you have?

0 Kudos
lasinh
by
New Contributor III

I want to create a map of the tourist routes in a province or a city