CBB in Hawai'i

04-03-2015 02:04 PM
BrianSpears
New Contributor II

Hello all,

I am a GIS student and coffee writer.

I am working on a new map that the coffee owners and workers can use in the field to get a up to date map of the CBB and see the progression of it in real time

How can i get the farmers and workers to use it and get the department of ag to use this?

Tags (3)
5 Replies
RobertBorchert
Frequent Contributor III

Develop a price point first.  people don't want you selling them something without knowing a price.

What is a coffee writer?

What is CBB?  Don't they make swim bikini's?

If your going to build a map for a specific purpose such as for Coffee Farmers you need to talk to the owners and find out what they want.  Get them invested in the product.

Same holds true for many industries.  Some of my clients I can create the best online product ever.  But they won't use it, they want a paper map book.

And before you talk to them come up with some gee wizz bang things you can show them.

A few years ago I made a geodatabase for Hawaii.  I know you have a LOT of free high quality data available.

Maybe you could gather some elevation data and show them runoff areas.  But then again if they have been farming the same location for a number of years they are going to know these things.

0 Kudos
BrianSpears
New Contributor II

CBB is Coffee Berry Borer and responsible for hurting the coffee of Hawai'i

I have the farms and owners with it now and have been showing them and now i have the university of Hawai'i hilo students that want to help

as for coffee writer, I review coffee for people and interviews with the people who are responsible for your cup of coffee

0 Kudos
DanielAmrine
Occasional Contributor

Have you collected any data so far?

This is for information only:

Coffee borer beetle - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia