Help with scaling images for Story Map Journal

03-10-2015 08:04 PM
FerdinandQuinones
New Contributor II

I am a rookie at building Story Maps, have done some of the simpler. Tackling a Journal format, and most of all OK, except that the images that I bring up to the Main are too large. How do you scale them to be smaller, particularly if to be used as pop-ups? Any help will be appreciated.  Thanks.

Ferdinand Quiñones

0 Kudos
6 Replies
GregoryL_Azou
Occasional Contributor III

Welcome in Story Maps world

For the Main Stage, did you notice that configuration panel when you add the image?mainstage.png

For Map pop-ups you, that article should help you Tips for displaying photos in pop-ups | ArcGIS Blog

FerdinandQuinones
New Contributor II

Dear Gregory: Thanks for the advice and tip. I do not know if your message lost something, but after you mention the configuration panel in Main Stage, other than the advise for the pop-ups reference, there is no other comment. I used bothe the fill and fit oprions on the Main Stage, and my figures (these are maps of sections of Puerto Rico) are still too large and cut off some of the information pertinent to the Story Map.  I am not using a map, but an image (the photos), which I already discovered does not give you the option of moving or zooming. Not too good for my objective since on the Map option, and layer that I try to bring up to the map is rejected as being too large (>1,000 points). This limitation will hinder a wide expansion of the format, since most ARCGIS users have dozens of layers as shp files that exceed this parameter. 

Apart from the issues with the size of layers, any advice to show my images on the Main Page will be appreciated.

Cordially,

Ferdinand Quiñones

0 Kudos
GregoryL_Azou

Hi Ferdinand,

My message was complete

The fit option should not cut any of your image.