ArcGIS Online, Why do I need it?

01-21-2015 07:53 AM
TonyCollins
Occasional Contributor

Hi,

I've been developing against ArcGIS Server for about 4-5 years now so feel pretty comfortable with the APIs and ArcGIS Server (up to 10.2).

Having on premise ArcGIS Servers and some good in-house developers my question is really to find out how we might benefit by migrating Online?

0 Kudos
9 Replies
TimWitt2
MVP Alum

The good thing is, since you already own licenses there won't be any extra cost to you with using AGOL.

ESRI keeps creating apps (i.e. story map ) which makes it easy to connect to customers/citizens. Most of their AGOL apps are also optimized for different devices (tablets/mobile phone), which can be very time consuming if you do it yourself.

In your case I would see AGOL as a time saving benefit. If you are not satisfied with the apps that ESRI provides, you can always download them and customize them to fit your need.

Also check out the new WebBuilder, that might be something to use in conjunction with AGOL.

Hope this helps!

Tim

0 Kudos
JoeFlannery
Occasional Contributor III

Tony:

Besides the wonderful tools and functionality out-of-the-box in AGOL and the ease of use for our clients, this Esri article describes why we are big fans of AGOL.

http://blogs.esri.com/esri/esri-insider/2014/12/19/creating-a-sustainable-gis/

I particularly like this statement in the article:

"The old 80-20 rule was that if you had a COTS app that accomplished 80% of your workflow, you customized the other 20% to meet your workflow needs.  The new 80-20 rule states that now you change the 20% of your workflow to meet the functionality of the COTS app, because even though it can cause a temporary disruption, doing so is much less costly in the long run than coding and maintaining the customization."

0 Kudos
TonyCollins
Occasional Contributor

Thanks Tim/Joe,