Shapefile displaced to south pole

Jump to solution
01-19-2015 09:39 AM
BenjaminHerrmann
New Contributor II

Hello community,

I am a Geography student and very new to ArcGIS. Back in August I started a project which asked of me as one of the project tasks to map some paleorivers in Bolivia. So I got into ArcGIS a little and started the work. That worked pretty well and decided to work on other project tasks before continuing my GIS work. When I opened up my ArcGIS project again last week the features I created back then were all moved south of the south pole. Let's look at some screenshots.

world view.PNG

This is where the rivers and the reference image both map: south of the south pole (where the red cross with the "3" are)

basemap zoomed to desired area.PNG

This is a zoom on the desired area. Clearly, there are no lines shaped here.

zoom to layer unspecified rivers.PNG

Those are the lines I drew back in August. They match some paleoriver beds in the map above, but are not shown on the map any more. Look at the display scale, it reads "1 : 0,44" which means that they are displayed smaller than the feature in real life. Of course, this is rubbish, as the displays scale in the first image is 1:40'000.

coordinate system.PNG

When I right-click on "Layers" and go to "Properties" and then "Source" everything seems correct. UTM Zone 19S is the required projection within which I was asked to work. I shouldn't change that.

When I started in August, I opened ArcMap and opened the basemap layer, set the coordinate system of the "Layers" to UTM 19S and found some tutorial on creating a shapefile from scratch, which I followed and image 2 was the result so far, only that it was showing at the correct location back then.

I don't really need any basemap that is provided in ArcGIS, though. The work I am doing requires me essentially to import an image into ArcMap, georeference that image in the right coordinate system, and then map the rivers on that image.