Problem displaying mosaic (greyed out)

12-18-2014 10:46 AM
alexbullen
New Contributor II

Hello, I am writing about a seemingly simple problem. I am trying to create a mosaic of DEM files that are the "Disc Image File" format. I create an empty mosaic dataset in my geodatabase, run the add rasters to mosaic dataset tool, and use "Raster Dataset" as my file type (generic). And I check the "create overview" box. The resulting mosaic is grey at all scales despite its settings to display at all scales. I've tried multiple ways of creating this mosaic (including Append, Raster Catalog, Table data type, and the Mosaic tool), all with either grey or non-displaying results. However, the images display completely normally when added to ArcMap by themselves.

And I'll add that while I'm relatively new to GIS, I've tried just about everything I can find on ESRI and Google to resolve this issue. Also, I've successfully & easily created mosaics out of TIFFs so I'm familiar with the workflow but perhaps I'm just missing some particular setting. The DEMs each perhaps a square quarter mile in area and about 20 MB in data size.

Thanks for reading.

4 Replies
JamesFitzgerald
Occasional Contributor II

Hey Alex,

I have had the same problems too! Have you tried 'Mosaic to New Raster?' Sounds like you have tried every possible way! Check the order of the rasters in the mosaic tool. Also click on the Symbology tab in properties. Look for stretch and change type to standard deviations. This may work but not always.

Thanks

James

0 Kudos
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

Something to check on - the display settings of the mosaic. It may be that one or more of these settings is off for the mosaic, thus displaying it gray.

When in ArcMap, right-click on the mosaic, then look at the Display and Symbology tabs.

- In Display, check the "Resample during Display using:"

- In Symbology, there are a variety of settings to look at:

1. Show:  Stretched or RGB Composite

2. the Band assignments