Use row as input to other processes in python

Jump to solution
12-05-2014 01:19 PM
DavidCampbell
New Contributor III

I am new to python and need help. Looked for my answer but don't know if I am even using the correct terminology.

I have a model in which I iterated through rows and performed a set of processes on each. For example a feature class with 10 features and on each of the 10 features I wanted to create an individual feature class....or... for each row create a raster based on the field (e.g.) ID. I am trying to turn this to python due to a host of reasons.

Here is what I have so far, but I cannot get it to work. Any help would be appreciated.

# Import arcpy module
print "Starting...."
import arcpy
from arcpy import env

# Check out any necessary licenses
arcpy
.CheckOutExtension("spatial")
env
.overwriteOutput = True

selectingfeatures
= "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP\\trans1.shp"
Trans1_shp = "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP\\trans1.shp"
basecldem
= "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Data\\From_Client\\20141023_DataDumpFromBrent\\ClosureSurface\\basecldem"
TEMP
= "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP"
Zone3_shp = "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP\\Zone2.shp"
transarea
= "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP\\transarea"
RegionGRP = "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP\\regiongrp"
ZonalMean = "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP\\zonalmean"
ZoneArea = "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP\\zonearea"
Transition__n_ = "\\\\silver\\clients\\SYN\\Projects\\P696\\8_BaseMine\\Processing\\TEMP\\transition_%n%"
I_trans1
= "I_trans1_FID"

selectingLayer
= arcpy.MakeFeatureLayer_management(selectingfeatures)
rows
= arcpy.SearchCursor(selectingLayer)