ArcGIS 10.2 Model Builder soil sample points interpolation

11-20-2014 07:40 AM
AndrewWindham
New Contributor

I have built a model in model builder that is supposed to take an unprojected shapefile join it to an excel table field  project the joined shapefile and then perform kriging using Geostatistical Analyst and then clip the raster output to a boundary. The model in the image below will project both the boundary and the raster however it will not clip the raster and when it is added to the map the boundary and the raster will not display in the same map as if the coordinate systems are different. I am not a programmer and an intermediate level GIS user I could really use some help!

Thanks

GIS.JPG

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

Sounds like a projection issue.  I don't know the exact issue going on, but here are some things to try to help isolate the issue:

1.  Check the projection and coordinate system of your Kriging output to see if it is what you expected.  If the Kriging result came out without a projection, you may have to define a projection for it.

2.  Check also the Data Frame projection and coodinate system to see what it is.

3.  Check the clip shapefile to see what it is.

Chris Donohue, GISP

0 Kudos
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

Another idea - I can't tell from your diagram, but is the Clip tool used the "Clip (Data Management)", not one of the other "Clip" tools?  There are several Clip tools, but the Data Management one is the specific one that does rasters and probably the one to use.

0 Kudos
NeilAyres
MVP Alum

A bit of advice, use it, don't use it.

Get your data sorted first before performing analysis.

What do you mean by "unprojected shapefile". Get it into a proper PCS first.

Get your excel into a proper table (fgdb, pgdb etc) format first. This will confirm that header are correct and that variables are not a different type than you expect.

Then perform your analysis.

0 Kudos
ChadKopplin