Wondering why I am getting more attribute records when running Feature Class to Geodatabase tools than expected ... thanks

Jump to solution
10-25-2014 08:39 PM
RicM
by
New Contributor

Hello All,

I am using ArcMap 10 and wondering why I am getting more attribute records when running  Feature Class to Geodatabase
tool  than  I am expecting (I am thinking they ought to be identical but maybe I am wrong?).  What are the possible reason for
created layer ending up with a different number of records in attribute table compared to original?

I copied a Feature Layer from an SDE geodatabase to a Feature Layer of a newly created blank file geodatabase

using the ArcMap built in tool called Feature Class to Geodatabase but for some reason when I open up the attribute

table of the created Feature Layer, I am seeing that it has double the number of records as the original ...

I am somewhat new to Arcmap but from what I have seen as the result of my previous run of the same tool (Feature Class to Geodatabase)
on other feature layers, I always end up with an identical number of records which therefore is what I have learned to expect at this point in my
learning. 

Wondering what I need to watch out for so that I am guaranteed to always have identical number of features in both the original and created Feature Class when running the above tool?

All help and advise greatly appreciated ... thanks.

Gratefully,

Ric

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus