Close a File/Map/.mxd

10-16-2014 01:19 PM
CarlosLeon
New Contributor II

I'm new to ArcGIS/Map ( and this forum...which is cumbersome to say the least ) and found the exact question asked 5 years ago, but with no reply.  I replied, but I cannot find it now.  So I'm curious about why there is no <Close> in the File Menu?  I can't just close a file and leave the app window open.  I have to either exit, thereby closing the app, or start a new file.  I'm wondering if I'm missing something?

Close.jpg

Seems odd not to have a <close> option.

Thx.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
CarlosLeon
New Contributor II

Team GIS...?  Anyone?

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Your choices are either File|New or Fille|Exit  To ensure that any open file locks to existing files are removed and can't be inadvertently  accessed.  File|close would leave them remaining as often happens with scripts that don't terminate properly in Arcmap

0 Kudos
CarlosLeon
New Contributor II

Thanks for your reply.  Sorry for such a delayed response.  As I said, this forum is nothing like the forums anywhere I've been.

So why can't a File>Close be created in the ArcMap code that removes the open file lock(s) for the file being closed and leave ArcMap open?  Seems to me that would be a simple add...there must be a reason File>Close was purposely avoided.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Wow... 4 years.

I suspect a file close would just be a shell around a file exit, file open/new.  Perhaps market demand is too low for it to be considered.

Perhaps

ArcGIS Ideas

would be a good place to post a use case and see if it garners any support.

CarlosLeon
New Contributor II

Is 4 years too long to respond/acknowledge a response? 

I'm still consider myself new to ArcMap...and now with ArcGIS Pro looming over me...it feels I'll be back to the drawing board, if you will. 

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus