SAD69 to SIRGAS2000 reprojection

Jump to solution
10-01-2014 07:23 PM
BrunoMendes
Occasional Contributor

What should I be aware of before trying to reproject a SAD69 feature class to SIRGAS2000? What are the steps needed to accomplish this task?

I found this link that points to a program called ProGriD developed by IBGE (the brazilian institute of geography and statistic).

Instead of using a third-party software I would like to do it in ArcMap, because in ArcMap I can create a python script to run against all feature classes at once and store the reprojected data in a brand new database instead of modifying the old one.

*Note:I 'm not familiar with reprojections. I'm a developer, not a geographer.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BrunoMendes
Occasional Contributor

For those facing the same problem,

I've created a Custom Geographic Transformation from SAD69 to SIRGAS2000 using the geodesic transformation parameters provided by IBGE (the brazilian institute of gegraphy and statistic):∆X = − 67,35 m ∆Y = + 3,88 m ∆Z = − 38,22 m.

These parameters are the official ones since 2005, when the SGB (Brazilian Geodesic System) was updated. Here is the link to the source document

I couldn't find the transformation information at the EPSG-Registry.org so I didn't test it.

But after our client compared the results of ArcMap default transformation and the custom one, he opted by the custom one that was made using IBGE parameters.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
ArnoldKuilman
Occasional Contributor

Take a look at: ArcGIS Help - Project (Data Management)   for the re-projection of features in ArcGIS.

The output should ideally be compared to similar known features which are already in the output coordinate system to see if they line up.

0 Kudos
BrunoMendes
Occasional Contributor

I will try to use that tool and then post the results here. Thanks.

0 Kudos
MelitaKennedy
Esri Notable Contributor