export ArcSDE SQL geodatabase to Access geodatabase mdb?

Jump to solution
04-02-2012 11:29 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: alnesbit

Hello all,

I would like to export a copy of this ArcSDE SQL geodatabase to an Access geodatabase. I don't know if this can be done, I am new to this realm of GIS. Is there a tool where I can connect to the SDE geodatabase and export? I need to keep all of the geometric network tables, relationships, etc in place. I have searched for a while and just decided to give up and ask. 🙂

Appreciate any help or documentation.

Thanks,
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: JSkinn3

Hi Andrea,

You can do this by simply copying the data from the ArcSDE geodatabase to the Personal (Access) geodatabase using ArcCatalog.  Steps:

1.  Open ArcCatalog
2.  Create a Personal Geodatabase by right-clicking on a folder > New > Personal Geodatabase
3.  Create a connection to your ArcSDE geodatabase by going to Database Connections > Add Spatial Database Connection
4.  Select the feature classes/datasets in ArcSDE > right-click > Copy
5.  Right-click the Personal Geodatabase > Paste

The geometric networks, relationships classes will remain in place and copy over successfully.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: JSkinn3

Hi Andrea,

You can do this by simply copying the data from the ArcSDE geodatabase to the Personal (Access) geodatabase using ArcCatalog.  Steps:

1.  Open ArcCatalog
2.  Create a Personal Geodatabase by right-clicking on a folder > New > Personal Geodatabase
3.  Create a connection to your ArcSDE geodatabase by going to Database Connections > Add Spatial Database Connection
4.  Select the feature classes/datasets in ArcSDE > right-click > Copy
5.  Right-click the Personal Geodatabase > Paste

The geometric networks, relationships classes will remain in place and copy over successfully.
0 Kudos