Watershed Analysis Issues

12-20-2010 05:32 PM
Labels (1)
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: Jvhowube

Dear GIS Community,

I am having some trouble with watershed analysis.  I know I'm not the first one, but I've searched the internet/forums, and I can't seem to find any exact workthroughs for the issues I'm having.

The eventual goal of this analysis is to create a layer that shows the result of installing hydroelectric in a certain area.  If this is not what watershed analysis is used for, please let me know.  I'm going by a user-guide that I was given here in a developing country, so I'm working with very little.  The before and after pictures show the kind of output that is desired - i.e. if you choke off a part of the watershed with a dam, what is the resulting reservoir?  At least that's what it looks like to me.  Again, I'm new to this watershed stuff so bear with me.

Basically, I understand the toolset, and how it's a step-by-step process to eventually delineate watersheds from a DEM.  My trouble starts when I go to set a pour point (what the heck is a pour point anyway), and then use the Watershed tool.  My understanding of a pour point is as follows: the point in a watershed or catchment where all the water flows out of said watershed or catchment.  When I set this manually by just creating a point file, it's never the "right" point, and any watershed analysis thereafter results in a very small 20-30 raster-cell-sized area around my pour point.

I've tried to remedy this by using the Snap Pour Point tool, and searching the entire area for a "better" pour point - if this isn't what that tool does, then I'm using it wrong.  I can't figure out what it does, if not that.  Anyway, this usually results in an area slightly larger, but still quite small, and it fails to delineate any reasonable watershed-esque area.