Electric Distribution model Geodatabase?

07-27-2010 08:18 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: alnesbit

Hello all,

I'm brand new to modeling an electric distribution system. I am converting an existing city CAD map to GIS. I have been reading the "Electric Distribution Data Model" PDF book. It seems pretty detailed.

Does anyone have an existing electric distribution system geodatabase I could look at? You can take out the data and just send me an empty mdb. I would love to look at your existing schema. I'm struggling to get started with which feature classes, which values for my domains, etc. I think I'm going to use the existing CAD legend to help build this but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
0 Kudos
4 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Ok, I found one in an unsuspecting place:

Electric Distribution Operations Dashboard
http://resources.arcgis.com/gallery/file/electric-gas/details?entryID=942DB175-1422-2418-A089-584099...

too bad there isn't a geodatabase model where the models are. But this template helped me immensely.

Cheers.
0 Kudos
JonathanTraut
New Contributor II
Hi Andrea

The PDF book that you refer to is based on a Telvent (ex-Miner & Miner) model, and is focused on overheads. Our own infrastructure is mostly underground, and thus we created our own geodatabase model.

If you have access to Visio I can send along our current model and give a few pointers.

Please post an e-mail address through which I can communicate.

Regards
Jon
0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi Jon,

I have a Visio Viewer so that will work I think.

My email is abohn at greatriv dot com

I appreciate it.

Thanks,
0 Kudos
JoeHershman
MVP Regular Contributor