.TIF to .TFW

06-28-2010 12:26 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: CristallLink

So, I've got some VERY large .TIF files that I need to convert to . TFW files. My supervisor is saying that I can do this without opening the large, slow-to-open files with the Command Line within ArcMap, but I'm still a newbie to GIS and have never touched the Command Line. Does anyone know what my supervisor is talking about and/or how to execute this? Or any other way to make this conversion happen? Thanks.
0 Kudos
10 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: michaelneer

A .tfw is a "world file"  so you don�??t convert a .tif into a  .tfw; (but rather) much like a shape file that has multiple parts .shp, ,shx, .dbf type extensions a .tfw goes with your .tif files. 

It associates your image to the coordinate space its projected in.  If you don�??t have .tfw with your image file(s) as it sounds like now - your images are just that {Basic Images} with no coordinate value meaning that they have not been "georeferenced".
0 Kudos
ChrisMathers
Occasional Contributor III
If you search google for how to make a world file, you can do it by hand. They arent hard to type out if you know the values for the image already.
0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Yes, I understand all that - but how do I create a .tfws when all I have are gigantic .tifs? These files are very, very big, and it would take an entire day just to open them all in arcmap, and who knows how long to go through each other of them to project. I guess what I'm speciicaly looking for is a batch process to create .tfws from .tifs. Any suggestions anyone??!
0 Kudos
m_neer
by
Occasional Contributor
Once your TIF's have a TIFW then all you need to do is make an IMAGE CATALOG.  Its easy to make and that is all you will need to load.  Check it out, you'll see its much easier than loading lots of images with inflated file sizes.
0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: csny490