Environment: ArcGIS 10.1, ArcSDE Geodatabase 10.1, SQL Server 2008R2
User is editing a feature class registered as versioned with move to base option. She sometimes gets the following message when trying to save edits:
"Your edits could not be saved because the target version has been updated since you started editing. These edits have been merged into your edit session. Review the changes and save again."
As far as we know she is the only editor at that time. The Geodatabase is used as a project workspace for geoprocessing data by 6-10 users. That includes the possibility that other users are creating new feature classes, altering table schema in existing feature classes, or performing bulk load operations - in default - while the user is editing. Can any of the other users' actions result in changes to default and cause the message?
I think the short answer is "use fully versioned workflows" but need clarification on what constitutes an "update" to default version - it's not in the training book.