Cost Distance Extent Problem

Jump to solution
08-04-2014 03:15 AM
Juan_Poblete
New Contributor II

Hi! I am kind of new to ArcGIS and I would appreciate some help

I am carrying a cost path analysis over a piece of land and i am getting a strange answer I can not turn it right. I am assessing the least costly path between a coastal town -destination- and a series of three volcanoes -source- (based on which I created a cost distance raster). The boundary of the image attached shows the coast line. The resulting least costly path runs over the sea instead of facing directly a shorter path towards the closest volcano.

I suspect It has something to do with the extent and environmental setting of the cost distance or cost path tool. But I can not get it right.

Any help greatly appreciated!

Plano 15_Hualaihue.jpg

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Juan,

After doing more research you should actually be setting the water cells to NoData.

Cell locations with NoData in the input cost raster act as barriers in the cost surface functions. Any cell location that is assigned NoData on the input cost surface will receive NoData on all outputs (cost distance raster and, optionally, cost backlink raster).

You can also use one of the extract by tools to create another raster to set a boundary to your analysis

http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisdesktop/10.0/help/index.html#/Extract_by_Polygon/009z0000002q000000/

View solution in original post

6 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Juan,

You have to assign the highest value to cells that are in the water in your weighted raster so that the analysis will not choose to go that route. Let me know if you don't understand.

0 Kudos
Juan_Poblete
New Contributor II

Thank you Robert.