basemap gallery error:    esri.dijit.BasemapGallery: could not find group for basemap

Jump to solution
09-16-2013 03:11 PM
PamelaBond
New Contributor III
WARNING: I am very new to using JavaScript and making custom web map application so please keep it simple. 😉

I would like to add the Basemap Gallery widget to my web map application. I have already successfully accomplished this on another application and just can't seem to figure out where the difference is. I started off creating this application by downloading an ArcGIS Online web map application template (I am starting to think I should just start from scratch and it would cause less headaches).  When I insert the same code in the map.js file as I used for a previous application where the basemap gallery appeared and function perfectly, I received this error message "basemap gallery error: esri.dijit.BasemapGallery: could not find group for basemap".

The application can be found at: http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/ifwis/maps/WildlifeTracts/

My code is attached.
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JasonZou
Occasional Contributor III
map in esri.dijit.BasemapGallery should refer to the map object used in your app, while _maps is an array of map objects. Matter of fact, _maps only contains one map object. Don't know why need an array here. Anyway, here is the change you can make.

Try to change:

var basemapGallery = new esri.dijit.BasemapGallery({
    showArcGISBasemaps: true,  
     map: _maps
}, "basemapGallery");

To:

var basemapGallery = new esri.dijit.BasemapGallery({     showArcGISBasemaps: true,         map: _maps[0] }, "basemapGallery");

View solution in original post

3 Replies
JasonZou
map in esri.dijit.BasemapGallery should refer to the map object used in your app, while _maps is an array of map objects. Matter of fact, _maps only contains one map object. Don't know why need an array here. Anyway, here is the change you can make.

Try to change: