Print custom information along with your map

Jump to solution
08-20-2013 05:54 AM
RaduMihai
New Contributor
Hello Forum!

First I want to say that I am new to esri api so hold your horses 😄
Second I am not good at spelling either..
So i have followed some samples taken from the esri site for Javascript developers  in order to learn more about esri javascript api
For the current task,as an intern,I had to follow this sample :
[HTML]https://developers.arcgis.com/en/javascript//jssamples/fl_hover.html[/HTML]
For better understanding I have simplified the code of the given samples in order to get a better grip on the essentials.
(attached here)
Basically,I am trying to insert my own text (information) below(anywhere) my printed map.

Afterwards I will try to insert information taken from a JQuery self made pop-up(attached in my second file ) taken that from a sample too [HTML]https://developers.arcgis.com/en/javascript/jssamples/fl_hover.html[/HTML]
but first any text will do. 🙂

I have attached two files with my source code.

I am working with netbeans if it matters.

Any Ideas?
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JasonZou
Occasional Contributor III
Unfortunately, you will have few control over what to add dynamically on the printout page if using esri Print widget or PrintTask. ESRI 's solution uses the map templates for the printout layout. There is nothing else you can add to it dynamically. If you like to add something dynamically, you will need to develop some custom print function on your own.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
JasonZou
1. In order for you to add anything that not showing on the printout, more than likely, you will need to modify the MXD templates that served as the print page templates. You can find these templates under <arcgis server folder>/templates on your arcgis server machine. If you are using third party print url, that will be an unfortunate.