this is a code from VBA...since ESRI now abandoned VBA I need it in python!

06-05-2013 05:18 AM
DanielAmrine
Occasional Contributor
Attached is .py of the code converted to Python syntax....

however i need to call in arcpy and then change some more of the syntax to fit the current python language...I'm new to this and i was not very good with VBA....but we need this functionality in our workflow!! So any help is much appreciated!
Tags (2)
10 Replies
MathewCoyle
Frequent Contributor
VBA still works in ArcGIS... for now.

Also, you should describe your work flow and how you will be using this code as it is not at all apparent from your code alone.
0 Kudos
DanielAmrine
Occasional Contributor
VBA still works in ArcGIS... for now.

Also, you should describe your work flow and how you will be using this code as it is not at all apparent from your code alone.

1.) How does VBA still work? I know 10.0 still supports it but you need the VBA extension. (A pain to get the authorization code)...
10.1 and beyond no longer supports VBA...supposedly.

2.) It's a complicated process....essentially we need to build rectangles along a polyline that overlap. this code allows you to set this dimensions of the rectangle/overlap then starts from the origin point in the polyine and uses the closest vertices (to the set dimensions) to angle and draw the rectangle.

3.) The original VBA code was meant to a be a macro that ran inside a map document referencing the first two layers in the mxd. My goal is to have this be a script tool with a polyline input parameter and polygon input parameter to add the rectangles to.

Dan
0 Kudos
MathewCoyle
Frequent Contributor
VBA is supported in the same manner in 10.1 as in 10.0. I'd imagine it is the same for 10.2 though I haven't used it yet.

How you describe your process seems simple enough, you shouldn't have too much trouble converting this to arcpy.
0 Kudos
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor