Buildings' Elevation from CAD file

04-28-2013 07:53 PM
anthonykitchin
New Contributor
Hi all,

I'm kind of new to CAD and I was wondering if in ArcMap it's possible to build 3D model from a CAD file (dwg or dxf). I attach an image with the kind of data I have. The numbers on buildings and streets (annotations?) are the heights of each these features (at sea level).
Does anybody know if it's possible to build a 3D model with this data? I have seen something similar done interpolating data on shapefiles but I don't know if that applies to CAD files.
Thanks in advance,

JF
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
KarenHodge
Esri Contributor
The short answer is yes, it can be done.  You have a couple of tasks first.  You've seen how you interpolate data from a shapefile, so I'm guessing you understand that if you have some feature, like a polygon, that represents a building and one of the fields is the building's height, you can represent it as an extruded 3d shape.

The trick is how do you get that polygon feature from the CAD file and get the piece of text in the drawing to be a numeric field attached to that polygon. 

Your answer will be in Geoprocessing.  Which geoprocessing tools you use will depend on your drawing.  CAD drawings are organized in many different ways.  You can add the CAD drawing dataset into ArcMap and explore it to see how best to work with it.
I'd start by converting the file to a geodatabase using a tool like Cad to Geodatabase.

You have lots of linework in this CAD drawing--some are your building outlines and some aren't.  You'll need to isolate out JUST the building lines.  You may be able to do that by creating a feature layer with a query of "Layer=<some value>", where <some value> is the name of the CAD layer that contains the building outlines.  (This assumes, of course, that the building outlines are on a separate CAD layer.)