Add XY Data

11-07-2012 12:12 PM
JeffPaar
New Contributor
I'm new to ARCMap 10.1. I had the first training overview class, but am just getting my feet wet in editing.

I am taking some coordinates in an Excel file (or CSV) and attempting to pull them into a layer so I can see the points on my basemap. I create my layer, when I click File > Add Data > Add XY Data and then point to either my Excel or CSV file (containing the same structure), the X field and Y field in the "Add XY Data" dialog will not allow me to select my Lat/Long fields, which are in decimal format. It did allow this once, but then mapped the incorrect fields to the X/Y coordinates on my map, placing my coordinates across the entire world instead of in the tiny area in TN (please see attachment). I've looked for help on "Add XY Data" and it is there, but my system isn't following the rules.

What's the trick for adding the data? Ordering or naming the columns appropriately? Removing all but the data I want to have in my source?  Please advise me what to do - I'm stuck.

Thanks,
Jeff
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
T__WayneWhitley
Frequent Contributor
I think you just parsed your fields for X and Y wrong, look again -- Latitude X and Latitude Y does not make sense; certainly it does not make sense to take part of the value and apply that in one direction and the other part in the opposite (X is longitude and Y is latitude in a Geographic Coordinate System).  Probably you simply overlooked that.  If you need help with the field calculations, that's easy too.  Post back here if that is also a problem.
0 Kudos
LucasDanzinger
Esri Frequent Contributor