Interpolation with even spacing in x and y

11-05-2012 10:27 AM
MatthewBray
New Contributor
Hello guys,

Thanks for taking the time to read my question.  I'm new to arcGIS and trying to figure out the best way to perform a certain process.  Please let me know if there is a more intelligent way to perform these actions, and more importantly if you know how to get the data the way I want it.  I have one meter resolution LAS files, and I'm looking to put them into 2 cm resolution ASCII (x y z) files.

I have an LAS file that I bring in as a multipoint feature.  I then turn that multipoint feature into a raster so I can cut a certain part out of it using a shapefile.  I then convert the clipped raster back into a multipoint feature.  I then use spatial analyst to interpolate using the kriging method (which produces a raster).  I then turn the raster back into a multipoint feature.  Finally, I use feature class to ASCII to get the x,y,z coordiates out.

The problem is that the data has 2 cm resolution in the x direction, but 25 centimeter resolution in the y direction.  This produces strips of lidar points.  I'm attaching a picture of it if it is hard to understand what I'm saying without visually seeing it.  We are wanting evenly spaces points, so this will not work for us.  Does anyone know a method where we can do this and get the data we need?  Thanks again!

~Thefatalccidents
0 Kudos
6 Replies
MarcinGasior
Occasional Contributor III
Firstly, what for do you need 2 cm spaced points when your data resolution in 1 meter. You wont get higher accuracy using such a spacing.

General workflow for lidar data is:
- convert LAS files to multipoint in geodatabase feature dataset
(- if you have 10.1 you can create LAS dataset directly from LAS file)
- create Terrain dataset (for example refer to Creating and using terrain dataset tutorial exercise)