WABDE -> Export as Template to AGOL -> ... stuck in My Content

Jump to solution
02-02-2016 04:16 PM
LorenMueller
Occasional Contributor

Hi WABDE users,

Making the Template available to users in AGOL:

I have been using WABDE now for a few months and getting quite familiar with it. One workflow I am stuck on is exporting a local WABDE application as a template back up to AGOL or Portal. I was able to do that, but got a warning that I do not have permissions to share with the Template group in AGOL. I asked my AGOL admin about it and he can find no Template group.

1. What group do I need to be added to so that I can share my new template and have it show up in the list of Templates when I am creating a new application in AGOL?

I see that the Template app that was created has a Register option in the Details page - in what scenario do I need to do this? I registered it and it still does not show up in the list of templates.

2. Should I register it?

Then there is hosting the Template. I get that it will be hosted locally or on some web server where I can deploy it, and not stored up in AGOL, but how to deploy a Template?

2. How do I deploy ('download', like with an app) a WABDE Template so that I can host it? Or is it really just a copy of the Application that I exported as a Template that I need to host?  I only see the download option for applications in WABDE. Perhaps this is just a terminology mix up.

Thanks for any help!

Loren

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
SubuSwaminathan1
Occasional Contributor

Loren,

I am muddling through this myself. The group that you put the template in has to be selected in the AGOL organization settings->Map->Configurable Apps. Only then it will show up as a template...Then you can access it in My Content->Create->App->Using a template and you will see all the templates in that group available for you to select from. esri tech support finally figured that out after getting lost following their own documentation.